Hot Metal

Arts Collective


Come out on Friday, March 1st to the Peoples Improv Theater to see our newest edition of BLACKBOX PLAYLIST! 

This month, we’re doing something special. We picked 8 television theme songs and handed them off to 8 playwrights. They are writing short plays based on those songs which will be performed by 16 actors who will NOT meet beforehand. The first time they meet their scene partner will be onstage in front of the audience - right before the lights go down and their play begins! 

FRIDAY, MARCH 1st at 7:30 PM
Peoples Improv Theater UNDERGROUND
123 E 24th St, New York, NY 10010


  • CHEERS — “Where Everybody Knows Your Name” by Gary Portnoy

  • CURB YOUR ENTHUSIASM — "Frolic” by Luciano Michelini

  • HAWAII FIVE-0 — “Hawaii Five-0" Theme” by Morton Stevens

  • FRIENDS — “I’ll Be There for You” by The Rembrandts

  • THE WONDER YEARS — “With a Little Help from My Friends” by Joe Cocker

  • THE PINK PANTHER — “The Pink Panther Theme” by Henri Mancini

  • MALCOLM IN THE MIDDLE — “Boss of Me” by They Might Be Giants

  • M*A*S*H — “Suicide Is Painless” by Ahmad Jamal

WRITERS: Clara Morris, Shenovia Large, Deby Xiadani, Brady O'Callahan, Alex Song, Chris Sterbank, Jason Gore, and Jake Cornell

FEATURING: Emily McKeown, Glo Tavarez, Anthony Arbaiza, Nik Manohar, Sabrina Bierer, Sarah Burton, Andrew O'Loughlin, Ashley Arbaiza, Jeff Kissam, Mike Poole, Matt Davidson, Tim Agius, Adrian Frimpong, Laura Thomas, Lida Darmian, and Johnna Scrabis